Canal Pike

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Canal Pike

Currently fishing on my local canal (Birmingham-Fazeley Curdworth section) and havent managed to catch a single pike, i am new to this kind of fishing. I am using my carp rod 2.75lbtc with a shimano baitrunner, i have some mackerel for deadbaiting, a spoon and a couple of larger lures. I have been moving around a lot and fishing the usually target areas but still nothing. The few questions i have are:
    When lure fishing, how fast should i be bringing the lure in and at roughly what depth?
    What lures are successful (whether it be renowned or from personal experience)
    Should i be casting to the far bank of the canal and reeling straight across the canal towards me or going diagonally to the far bank then towards me or straight down the bank at my feet?
    I am fishing after work for the last 2-3 hours of daylight (5:30pm-8ish) is this a good time ?
    What am i doing wrong?

I don’t know anybody personally who pike fishes so its hard to get first hand experience, any advice and help would be much appreciated

Hi mate, I can’t help you myself but try messaging hurricane on here - what he doesn’t know about pike fishing probably ain’t worth knowing. Good luck!
    Steve

Comment

I was going to say the same
      RM98 cant PM anyone until he has made 5 posts & been a member for 7 days
      Welcome to T/A mate some great helpful fellas on here
      Sure you will get the help you need
      Colin

Comment

First thing you need to do is find another water.I have never fished that stretch but it has been extensively electro fished by BW (or whatever name they go by now) and many of the pike and zander removed(there was a thread about on here a while back.