Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

beastmaster

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• beastmaster

I have a beastmaster 11ft6" commi pellet waggler rod, and it is the first time that I have noticed it has a big brass counter weight in the butt, it must weigh 4 to 5 ounce, how do other anglers get on with this? do you usually remove it, or does it upset the balance. thanks john

leave it where is
    It is there to balance the rod
    Remove it & the Rod will be totally unbalanced
    It will ruin your Rod
    Colin

Comment

cheers col.

Comment

If it's anything like the original Speedmaster Commercials, what appears to be a single lump of metal at first glance, might actually be two or three pieces screwed together. You can remove them all or remove some of them to adjust the balance to suit your preference in respect to the specific reel that you are going to use with the rod. I've taken to using a tiny lightweight Ci4+ Shimano reel with my Speedmaster. All bar the smallest of three balance weights are removed. Not doing so make the rod unnaturally tip light, which makes the rod feel really weird in use.

Comment

hello sam, its the shimano bx model, and the weight screws into the removable neoprene cap on the base, I have just had another look, and it is all one piece solid brass,,but like you say you have to use a reel that balances it properly otherwise it can be a pain when holding the rod for hours, cheers john

Comment

Originally posted by johnrh View Post