Modifying a keepnet
register with talk angling fishing chat
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Monster Fish Site Life Member Preston_Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Costa Del Northumberland
    Posts
    2,367

    Default Modifying a keepnet

    Hi Guys

    A quick question

    As the top ring is reversed on the Preston Space Saver Net is this the same size as the rest of the rings or is it a smaller top ring allowing it to fit in the rest of the rings when packing it away.

    I have a current net that I would like to modify to create the space saver style net as I can't afford to purchase one and if I did there is no guarantee that it would be here for next Friday.

    Would anybody advise against doing this, would it affect the integrity and the structure of the keepnet

    Regards

    Preston_Mark
    Mark

    "At the end of the day it's another day over" Les Misérables - Victor Hugo

  2. #2
    Talk Angling User PHD in Angling lambrettasx200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Maidenhead
    Posts
    6,313

    Default

    Why? What advantage would you get? Will it catch you more fish?
    John

  3. #3
    Monster Fish Site Life Member Preston_Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Costa Del Northumberland
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    Sorry if I haven't explained myself properly understand what you are saying John but when fishing my local match last Wednesday I couldn't get my net in the water properly due to confidence issues when I am near water and also where I have it on my box the top ring was getting in the way of the spray bar when I was trying to unhook a fish
    Mark

    "At the end of the day it's another day over" Les Misérables - Victor Hugo

  4. #4
    Talk Angling User Talk Angling Whale
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dudlaaaaaay,West Mids
    Posts
    611

    Default

    I think you’re making things hard for yourself Mark! The idea of the space saver nets is so you can 3 nets on your accessory bar but you can anyway ! If you haven’t got a bar just put your 2 nets on your front legs as normal but drop them down to the bottom of your leg or even turn them outwards then land your fish between them !

  5. #5
    Monster Fish Site Life Member Preston_Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Costa Del Northumberland
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    Thanks Neil

    I do have the PRESTON INNOVATIONS OFFBOX 36 SNAPLOK TOOL BAR and only have one keepnet at the minute. I do also have a long keepnet arm that I could potentially use
    Mark

    "At the end of the day it's another day over" Les Misérables - Victor Hugo

  6. #6
    Talk Angling User Talk Angling Whale martin56's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    WAKEFIELD
    Posts
    641

    Default

    From watching 3 vid's (google preston spacesaver keep nets) The space saver bit just means that the rectangular hoop faces out the long way, allowing more space - up to 5 nets all within easy reach with your Landing net.

    You could for example buy some cheap 'G' clamps from DIY & clamp them this way out (with the threaded. long side to left or right - not in use) without any actual modifications to the net at all!!
    Most 'G' clamps have a 'VEE notch in the clamp pad so it can't slip off.

    Bet they'll sell 'em in Pound Shops.
    Last edited by martin56; 9th July 2018 at 08:42 PM.
    [B]Fishin' Best Fun Ya' Can 'ave wi' Ya' Clothes On!![/B] And Can't do with sycophants!!.

  7. #7
    Monster Fish Site Life Member Preston_Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Costa Del Northumberland
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    Thanks Martin

    Good suggestion but that would negate the use of my toolbar
    Mark

    "At the end of the day it's another day over" Les Misérables - Victor Hugo

  8. #8
    Talk Angling User Talk Angling Whale martin56's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    WAKEFIELD
    Posts
    641

    Default

    Can't you clamp to tool bar specially as I suspect tool bar is square section??
    [B]Fishin' Best Fun Ya' Can 'ave wi' Ya' Clothes On!![/B] And Can't do with sycophants!!.

  9. #9
    Monster Fish Site Life Member Preston_Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Costa Del Northumberland
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    Thanks Martin

    Will investigate this option
    Mark

    "At the end of the day it's another day over" Les Misérables - Victor Hugo

  10. #10

    Default

    Pointless in my opinion, I can fit 3 normal nets off 2 front legs with 2 short arms and 1 long, no toolbar, it's a question of correct positioning.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •